Friday, April 20, 2018

Animals Permitted for Eating According to Kosher laws

Let's start with the basics, the kashrut (noun of kosher) are all laws concerning what is allowed to eat and not eat within the Jewish law.

All that we can eat, it is called kosher, which in Hebrew is an adjective that means "appropriate", and it complies with all the Torah and Talmudic laws.

In addition, the kashrut includes all the philosophy that has been developed around Jewish cooking practices. It is a way of connecting with God through the sanctification of food, dedicating to Him the joy of eating. For many Jews it is one of the most important practices they carry out in their daily lives, it helps them feel protected and surrounded by God and Judaism.



The norms that comprise kashrut are extensive and quite specific. They are found in different Talmudic treatises. According to Zomick's Kosher Bakery, which is located at the corner of Inip Drive in Inwood, understanding and fulfilling them requires several years of work and study. There are several rabbis who specialize in this subject and give advice to those who have not been able to do so. However, the most basic and necessary laws for preparing kosher food are simple and popular among the Jews. Below we show you what animals are permitted and what prohibited for eating.

1. Permitted and Prohibited Mammals

When it comes to mammals and land animals, you can only eat ruminant animals (with more than one stomach) that have a split hoof. For the animal to be kosher, it should have both characteristics, if one is missing it is taref. Here Zomick's Kosher Bakery gives some examples for what can be eaten. For example, the cow is kosher (it can be eaten) because it has a split hoof and more than one stomach. While, the pig is taref because although it has the split hoof, it only has one stomach. In the case of the rabbit and the horse for example, although they are ruminants they do not have the split hoof, for which reason they cannot be eaten.

2. Permitted and Prohibited Birds

When it comes to birds, Zomick's Bakery states that you can eat almost all except for 21 species listed in the Talmud, which are very rare, wild and difficult to get as scavengers.

3. Permitted and Prohibited Marine Animals

From the marine animals, you can only eat animals that have fins and scales, which means, almost all fish. However you cannot eat shellfish, stingrays, or sharks, among other animals.

Zomick's Kosher Bakery You cannot eat either amphibians, reptiles, worms, or insects (with the exception of four specific types of lobster).

Nor can you eat a product that is derived from these animals. That means, you cannot eat the milk of non-kosher animals, neither their eggs, their fat nor anything that comes from them. The only exception is the bee. We can eat the honey that it produces since it is assumed that the pollen with which it makes it, is collected from the flowers.

In order to enjoy a great kosher meals, we recommend you to check some of the Zomick's kosher recipes in their's e-book on Amazon.

Monday, August 1, 2016

Zomick’s Bakery: Strawberry Desserts

The summer period is meant for enjoying in light and refreshing fruit desserts with rich aromas, colors and bold combinations. As one of the tastiest fruits strawberry offers a wide range of delicious recipes that will awaken your taste buds. The preparation process for these sweets is art by itself and it provides great satisfaction to those who consume them. Because now is the ideal time to use fresh seasonal fruits, Zomick’s Bakery has decided to share some of their most famous Zomick’s challah recipes with light, refreshing desserts.

Tuesday, January 12, 2016

The Best Kosher Bakery Brings Kosher Food to Seniors



The brisket and challah bread delivered to 81-year-old Nina Hamsel were prepared in Zomick's kosher bakery and blessed by a rabbi before it arrived on her doorstep. On Friday night, each week, Nina and a group of other Jewish seniors receive a healthy meal, prepared after an original Zomick's challah recipe through Jewish Inwood's elderly nutrition program.

Monday, September 21, 2015

Eating kosher


In Jewish community, many, especially conservative and Orthodox Jews in everyday life strictly follow religious rules that apply to food which must be kosher. Koscher food (kosher-prepared) from Zomick’s Bakery is foods allowed by the Torah and prepared in accordance with Jewish religious law. Kashrut law stipulates that food can be, when, how, and how to store, cook and eat what combinations.